Mechanic Needed: real trouble!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2007, 01:57 AM
Squid

superchicken is on a distinguished road
Mechanic Needed: real trouble!!

Attachment 3590

Attachment 3591

I was riding to work yesterday and I down shifted from 3rd to 2nd and a terrible grinding noise started from what seemed to be the front cylinder. I shut down and pulled off and tried to start again with the same result. I am no mechanic although I am smart and skilled in other technical area's and I need to figure out what the hell is going on. Please look at the attached pic's and please provide any helpful feedback. I have been told that I should replace the engine as it would be the cheaper alternative. I am open to any advice from experienced techs.

Aloha,

SADCHICKEN
Old 07-29-2007, 05:06 AM
SuperSport
SuperSport

gboezio is on a distinguished road
Well the CCT gave way and the timing chain slipped, the only way to really know what is going on is to lift the head and inspect for bent valves and piston damage, maybe you can pull pout with two bent valves, guides.
Old 07-29-2007, 04:12 PM
Administrator
World Champion

Hawkrider will become famous soon enoughHawkrider will become famous soon enough
Depends. If there was a loud crunch and a bang then you had valve to piston contact. That chain looks awfully loose. Did the motor lock up?
Old 07-29-2007, 04:29 PM
Squid

The bike did not lock up, as soon as I down shifted it just started grinding like nuts and bolts in a blender.

Originally Posted by Hawkrider
Depends. If there was a loud crunch and a bang then you had valve to piston contact. That chain looks awfully loose. Did the motor lock up?
Old 07-29-2007, 04:41 PM
Squid

Motohead