RANT! Pissed off about something? Need to get it off your chest? Do it here.

Hayes Brakes customer service

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2021, 02:31 PM
evil man of nothing
MotoGP

captainchaos is on a distinguished road
Hayes Brakes customer service

Not sure how many of you out there are into bicycles but over the last few years I started doing some tris up to and including a half-ironman last year, which after having to learn how to walk again years back after a pretty bad motorcycle accident was a pretty big deal for me. In the process I quickly learned to do pretty much everything with regards to keeping my (like everything else I own) older quality road bikes I ride and race in top shape, including even respoking a few wheels and building a couple bikes from scratch. I'm no expert but I've also fixed up and sold a ton of bikes for learning/fun and even given several to friends as gifts. Also obviously started getting stuck fixing everyone else's stuff all the time which you obviously need to put the brakes on sometimes lol. Fast forward to a recent purchase of a nice but neglected '14 Trek hybrid I bought to give to a buddy of mine who's having a tough time both with his health and with being out of work for awhile. This is a guy who built a raft in the woods and put a bulldozer engine on it to get his family here from Cuba. He's the best guy in the world and I wanted to do something nice for him. So after going through the whole bike and getting it real nice I'm down to the front brake (bled the rear and installed new pads and had it perfect in no time) which after two days of cleaning and bleeding just can't get perfect. I won't go into a separate rant about how I think for most (I said "most" not all) applications hydraulic disc brakes on bicycles (especially ones not being seriously raced) are delicate, unreliable, impractical bling, and not because I don't know how to work on them because I've learned and even put discs on another project using parts fro